Haut-Koenigsbourg castle: a 900 years long history …

Best of Upper Rhine

When I was a kid, we went to the castle of Haut-Koenigsbourg with our school. It was always a romantic and magical day out that struck our minds of children. For several years since, the castle of Haut-Koenigsbourg is at my window. And it is still magical … Of course, for almost a millennium, it has not moved. I just came nearer to it. Its silhouette crowns the ridge of the mountain. At night, its fortified walls are a spot of light above the dark forest. When I look up over my screen I see it. Yesterday, at dusk, I dropped my keyboard and I went to the mountain facing me …

The Haut-Koenigsbourg castle in Alsace, in the dark. The Haut-Koenigsbourg castle in Alsace, in the dark. Visible for tens of miles around and from the Black Forest on the other side of the Rhine valley, it is the beacon which accompanies all those who circulate in…

View original post 473 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

